Let’s see … its 2009

January 5, 2009 at 4:22 pm (Uncategorized)

Today is the first time since the last time I wrote that I’ve even bothered to note how long its been since I wrote. And considering that last post was about puke two days before Christmas, instead of holiday cheer, I figure I should probably post something new.

Life hasn’t really been all that exciting. I’ll try to sum up some of the highlights.

Christmas – Christmas Eve K was working so I went with the kids over to the in-laws house for Christmas Eve dinner, something I thought would be festive even though K couldn’t be with me. But it ended up being a simple meal of yunzies (which I love) with my MIL, FIL, and BIL (my husband’s sister’s husband). My SIL that lives there arrived when we were getting finished up eating, ate her dinner quickly, and left to the fire station where the BIL’s wife was working so they could wrap presents. So I played a few hands of Nertz cards with the three other adults and then took the kids home. It was very anticlimactic. I did get a lecture from my MIL – partially because I deserved it and partially because I was the only one there to give it to – on upping our interaction with the Lord on the direction our family should take. K’s work consuming him so much and making him so tired has got everyone worried and she wanted to know if we were having family prayer and asking what changes we should make; she wasn’t pleased with my honest answer. Rightly so – I’m not pleased with the answer either. We’ve definitely gotten into a rhythm of not asking for the help we should ask for, and it is something I’d like to remedy.

Anyway, K got done with work a little after the kids were in bed as I prepared to wrap all the presents. He didn’t help, but at least I had company, right? Then we relaxed, and I’m sure I stayed up way too late reading.
Christmas Day we got up around 9, fed the kids breakfast and then the kids opened their presents. K had put a couple little things in my stocking that I saw him put in there but didn’t see what they were, so that was the extent of present opening for us adults. It was a little one-egg frying pan and some measuring spoons. Yeeha. After that we got showered and ready to go to my parents’ house. We arrived there around 12:30 and had some lunch and then we opened the presents from my parents and from my little brother. Then we kind of settled in to hang out. The guys watched sports, the kids played. K2 took a nap at one point. We ate a lot. We left around 6 or 7 in the evening to go home and put the kids down so K could leave for the little bit of work he had to do. And so Christmas wound to a close.

New Years was even less eventful. We went over on New Year’s Eve to the in-laws and had steaks and sweet potatoes with my MIL and SIL that lives there. Then we played some cards and went home. K didn’t work and I read while he watched TV to bring in 2009. Whooo. Hoo.

During all this, I ate less than I would have expected, but with no kind of plan or system. I rarely eat before mid-day, and I haven’t been binging at night because there’s nothing to binge on for the most part. I’ve exercised a couple times, but nothing impressive.

Tomorrow, P goes back to school. Today, I tried to take Fish to the humane society, but they were worried that he was so scared he wouldn’t pass the assessment of a pit bull and would have to be put down since I would have signed away all rights to him. I couldn’t do it. So he’s back home, where I’m sure he’ll continue to annoy us for months to come. We’re trying to get Cloud into the vet to have her face looked at where her scabs from Fish chewing on her are healing and to see if they can figure out if there’s something else wrong with her that would explain her depression, lack of appetite, dull coat, and general apathy. I cleaned their ears and was going to give them baths, then I wimped out. The day’s not over yet, but I don’t think I’ll re-convince myself to get them all wet and soapy and destroy my bathroom.

I haven’t been following the cleaning calendar. I’m starting back up again today with one bathtub and dusting downstairs. I’m also starting to use the treadmill again tonight – I committed in front of a bunch of people that today is the day.

As far as eating goes, I still have no plan. I’m going to continue to not eat until I get hungry in the mornings, though I’m going to make a better choice when I do start eating than brownies (today’s choice). I’m going to make a meal calendar for dinners. I’m also hoping I can make myself stop being such a lazy arse and start walking the dogs – one at at time of course. Cloud one day and Fish the next.

I didn’t really make any New Year’s Resolutions. I don’t think I’ve ever kept one in my entire life, so its time to stop pretending that a new year starting is some major motivating factor and just keep living my life and trying to be better on an ongoing basis.

I still have been reading A LOT. I think I’m starting to get to the point that it isn’t obsessive anymore, though. I can stop and start with no qualms, and I am getting better at not having to stay up until 4 AM just to finish a book. I am working on going to bed before midnight regardless of being in the middle or beginning or near the ending of a book.

Gotta go. More later.

Leave a Reply

