Post holiday, Pre holiday

November 29, 2008 at 10:53 am (Daily Workouts/Eats)

Thanksgiving was nice. I hope it was for everyone else out there. I spent a good portion of the morning reading (more on that later), and then made the yams for dinner. While they were baking I got ready and tried to wake up K, which was difficult. He slept until 12:45 and we were supposed to be at his family’s for dinner by 1. Well, we got there at 1:25 and ended up eating at 2:00, so it was fine that we were late. We had mashed potatoes & gravy, turkey, my candied yams, corn, peas, deviled eggs, rolls, sparkling cider, cranberry sauce (I don’t like this stuff). I think that was it. Dessert was pie a few hours later. We stayed there while most everyone else went off to take a nap at home or downstairs. P and K2 were having so much fun with their cousins that we decided to just stay put. When everyone came back, we played Catch Phrase, Scattergories, and Pictionary, intermingled with pie eating. We left around 9:00, and put the kids straight to bed at home, or at least I did with a little help from K, since he was getting ready to leave for work. K2 was so exhausted from the day and his short 45 min nap that he woke up crying twice.

I’ve been reading. Way too much. I’ve read 4 books in the last 3 days. I’m not getting enough sleep – I haven’t gone to bed before midnight in almost a week and some of those nights have been as late as 3 AM. The house is starting to look straggly again, and the laundry is piling up. I haven’t been following my points, because when you are anxious to just grab something to eat and get back to reading, there isn’t time to pay attention, or eat well. Today, I need to practice what I’ve been saying I need to do for days. I need to get a prescribed list of things done BEFORE I get to read. And if I’m reading at 10:30 at night and the book isn’t done, I STILL need to go to bed. The words aren’t going to run off the page overnight!!! AND, I’m not going to run out of reading time! I don’t have to go back to work! I think that is maybe one of the reasons I’m so frantic about it. It feels like all of the sudden I’m not going to have time to read again. So, starting today, I’m exerting some self control! Reading will be a controlled substance from now on. Last night, my mom said something to me that I’ve realized for a long time but never had anyone else point out to me. She said I just have an addictive personality, and that she’s sorry because she thinks I got it from her. 🙂 Good thing I don’t drink or do drugs. Just chocolate.

I haven’t exercised, and as I mentioned I haven’t been following points. I also haven’t joined WW. I’m planning on doing that this coming week. I kind of gave myself this week off because of Thanksgiving, and I don’t want to wait another month just because Christmas is coming up. Money is beyond tight, and K is planning on getting a loan/advance from the main office on Monday – which I hope goes well because we’ve had to spend the guys’ salaries to pay our cable and phone bill since they were both temporarily suspended. And to buy groceries, which we need more of. If the loan goes through, I’ll be able to join. If it doesn’t, well I guess I’ll have to follow points on my own. I’ll get some more materials from my mom since the only thing I have is a slide rule which is a tedious way to figure out points. But I hope to be able to join and go to meetings and weigh ins.

It is Saturday, but I hope to get a few cleaning things done. I am contemplating on Monday going back to my daily task calendar which tells me which chores to do around the house each day. In the past I haven’t followed it because when I start up the right things might not be dirty, but if I’m going to learn how to MAINTAIN a clean house, and not just go from clean….. to dirty ….. to clean ….. to dirty, I need to start cleaning things even when they aren’t “dirty” or iow, FILTHY.

I haven’t really gained any weight, but I haven’t lost any. Still somewhere between 228 and 226 usually.

Leave a Reply

