Suggestions and contest

November 21, 2008 at 12:43 pm (Daily Workouts/Eats, Plan)

I got some great suggestions in the comments on the last post from a friend from the T-Tapp boards. Thanks L!

A little over a week ago, my hubby suggested that I start a contest with my brother that lives in Georgia when I was responding to an email from said brother about how he he *has* to lose weight for his health. He’s had a bunch of health scares on top of his every day problems exacerbated by his extra weight, and his goal is to lose 20 lbs by the end of the year and then some more. I suggested the contest to my brother. We’ve gone back and forth about it – he was focused on some doctor’s appointments and making sure he didn’t have cancer for a while. And now its crunch time and we have to decide if we’re going to do the contest.

And I’ve chickened out. I think.

He’s a guy. He’ll lose those 20 by Dec 31, probably. But I don’t know if I can lose that much by then. And even if we push the end of the contest out further and do percentages, he’s a guy. And guys seem to lose weight much faster and easier than women. So with almost everyone thinking that my brother was the sure winner before we even started, I backed out.

I still want to be involved with my bro’s success and for us to motivate each other. But …. oh, well. No need for more pressure than what I’m already putting on myself. My bro has lost 5 pounds in the last couple weeks and I haven’t even started. So I guess this is one thing to tell myself not to put it off any longer. “Tomorrow” will never come if I’m not careful.

So today, I’m sticking to 28 points. I am optimistic. Next week, I’ll join WW officially. And I’m working out – back on normal schedule. 3 days a week at a minimum, and walking. I’m going to have to work out in the afternoon. It is just TOO easy to convince myself not to do it at night, at least until I’m back in the habit. I’ll find out on Dec 2 if I get to keep my treadmill (bankruptcy) and if I do, I’m going to have my husband move it into our cramped living room. We don’t have room for it, but if its there I’m hoping it will annoy me so much I’ll have to use it to make it worth having it there. And I can do it while I watch my DVR shows.

1) 28 points. Try to keep it to fresh food to keep full and satisfied.

2) Exercise.

3) Keep busy so that I don’t eat out of boredom.

4) Drink water – no lemonade. Too many wasted points.

Leave a Reply

