Beginning of a new week, or end of a an old one?

November 16, 2008 at 11:17 am (Daily Workouts/Eats)

I never know if I should count Sunday as the beginning or end of my week. I can look at it as the day that ties it all together with rest, family time, and church, or I can think of it as my spiritual jump-start day to the week. Food for thought.

I’m not going to write down a blow-by-blow of the week since Wednesday afternoon when I wrote my last post. A couple highlights of the last few days were: 1) going over to a friends’ house with the kids Friday morning to hang out and talk. The kids had fun with her little girl and the two kids she babysits, while we sat in the living room and chatted about most of the things we’ve talked about via email over the last couple weeks. We’ve never really hung out before but we’ve both always wanted to be better friends, so we decided to make it happen. We email a lot because neither of us are really comfortable with phones. We had a good time talking, I just hope I didn’t say too much and that my instincts that nothing I said will go any farther are correct. I didn’t talk smack about anyone, but I was very candid about how I feel about the way some people act and I don’t want there to be any misunderstandings. I hope we get to get together again soon. My friend is pregnant and doesn’t feel good most of the time, so that puts a damper on her life right now.

2) Friday night we went out to dinner with my parents and then went and spent some down-time at their house. K was not with us since he had to work, but it was nice to get out and do something different with the kids instead of our usual routine of killing time in the evenings after their dad leaves.

Other than that, nothing of significance has really gone on. I spent most of yesterday trying to prepare my talk for today and after that preparing my lesson. I don’t feel uber-prepared for either, so that is going to make me uncomfortable until this day is over. I will be hugely relieved when 4:30 arrives and church is over, so my talk and my lesson will be over by then for better or worse. Then I have a month to prepare my next lesson, and I just hope I will make myself start preparing earlier. My lesson will be the Sunday before Christmas, so it would be nice to do it up a little fancier than normal with some kind of fun  hand-out. Of course, hand-outs cost money and that I don’t have, so we’ll have to see.

I’m still waffling on my diet plan. I haven’t done a fast yet, and I haven’t done and all-natural day either. With what we have in the house, all-natural would be hard to do. I could do it for at least one day, but I don’t know if we’d have the necessary foods to do it for more than that. I’m still considering WW, mainly for the accountability. K suggested I go into a contest with my brother for some cash – my brother lives in Atlanta and weighs about 10-15 pounds more than I do and he has a lot of health problems with it. But the thing is since he’s a guy he’d probably win the contest if he put any real effort in no matter what I did to try to keep up. I also find myself lingering on miracle pill commercials – you know the ones. The ones that say “this pill helped me lose weight so fast with little or no effort!” I’ve resisted so far, but mainly because I have no money. If I had money I’d probably give in to the temptation to try, even though my mind tells me they never work.

I haven’t started working out yet. Last Wednesday, I passed a few clots and bled heavily until Thursday morning. I concluded it was from all the physical work I did on Tuesday. It slowed down on Thursday and then was heavy Friday morning. And now it has stopped completely. I plan to start working out on Monday with a BWO+ and perhaps a walk. It has been 2 weeks and 2 days since the D&C.

I’m reading a book called “Running with Angels” that a friend of my family gave to my mom for me to read. It is very good and I identify with her so much in the book. The problem I find is relating to the huge mind-switch she had after a great tragedy in her life that helped her to have a different mindset about food, herself, and taking care of herself. I don’t want any more tragedy and my miscarriage hardly compares with her experiences, but at the same time I don’t know how to make that switch in my brain or psyche. I honestly think a huge part of it needs to be spiritual and my spirituality is at an all-time low right now. I have work to do there, renewing my habits of daily scripture reading and prayer. And actually trying to communicate with Heavenly Father so that I can receive the help he is surely trying to send me if I would but be open to it.

Well, I need to take a shower so that I have plenty of time to do my hair before church. I want to look and feel presentable since I have to stand in front of the whole congregation to give my talk and then later in front of the whole Relief Society to give my lesson.

Leave a Reply

