Adjusting Expectations

September 4, 2008 at 8:58 am (Plan)

I haven’t really known what to say here on this blog now that I’m pregnant. Obviously, I’m not supposed to actively lose weight in light of this information. And that’s really what I was trying to use this blog for. So, what should I write about?

I’ve decided that I will continue to write about my health and fitness endeavors. In the past, finding out I’m pregnant has led to total health & fitness-related dispair. Like it isn’t possible to be/act healthily if I’m going to have to gain weight, feel tired, lose my balance, and get completely unwieldy. But it isn’t so, it shouldn’t have been so before.

My goals haven’t changed much. I’m going to continue to do at least 3 full workouts a week. I’m going to start incorporating walks, hopefully with my children. I’ll just have to bundle them up a bit more as it gets colder. I’m going to eat healthily and circumspectly. The circumspectly part is going to be the hard part. Since I can’t fast now, I’m going to try skipping one meal for short fasts and see if I get nauseous. I don’t think that would endanger the baby, especially with all my fat stores. If I can do that, I might skip 3 or 4 meals a week and see if that helps. If it causes me to pig-out at the next meal, I’ll try a different approach. I’ve thought about doing more AN days, but that seems unlikely right now with our financial situation as it is. We’re trying to get some extra stuff paid for before I quit my job and eating AN requires having fruits and veggies in the house; hard to do when we only go shopping every 2 or 3 weeks and then only for what we absolutely need.

I’m hoping things will start to loosen up by the end of September, and then I’m hoping to go shopping once a week for fresh food. Then I think I’ll incorporate more AN days. Until then, my main goal is to go to bed at a reasonable hour and stay out of the kitchen after the kids go to bed. Those are the dangerous times. Normally, we don’t have anything in the house for me to really eat, which helps. But we’ve started making our own bread (in the breadmaker – baby steps), and that stuff sure is tempting.

Okay, gotta get ready for work and help my kids get dressed.

1 Comment

  1. mommabear said,

    Skipping meals is one of the worst things you can do for you and the baby. My doctor has always told me that in order to increase the metabolism and in turn lose weight you should eat 6 small meals per day. Starving yourself for a meal or 2 or 3 will lower your metabolism and could make you gain weight.

    If you must give up the excercising then I would suggest walking. It is low impact and I did a lot of it when I was pregnant with my son. I would eat a small lunch at my desk then take my lunch hour to walk. I only gained 20 lbs during that pregnancy. I kept the walking and the regular eating 6 small meals a day and lost all of the baby weight and an additional 30 lbs.

    Breastfeeding is quite helpful for losing weight!!

    I have found out I am again pregnant so I did not make it where I was headed but will continue to work on it after this delivery.

    Please be careful trying to lose weight while pregnant. It can be quite dangerous for you and baby. Good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

