Holiday Weekends – over too soon, and full of confusion

September 2, 2008 at 9:29 am (Daily Workouts/Eats)

Hope everyone had a good 3-day weekend. And if you didn’t get yesterday off, hope it was still a good day.

Yesterday we went to see Kung-Fu Panda at the dollar theatre as a family. P loved it, though she plugged her ears through the previews and was disappointed that I couldn’t find her a booster seat. That theatre was chock-full of families so its no surprise all the boosters were being used by the time we sat down a couple minutes after the lights went down. K2 freaked out right after we sat down, scared by the loud previews and the darkness. He was still in his carseat since he was asleep when we arrived at the theatre, but I got him out of there as fast as I could. We fed him a bottle and he seemed to get used to the darkness and noise while he was drinking that. K managed to keep him pretty happy almost all the way through the movie. After the movie, we got some Chickfila for lunch and ate it in the car on the way to some model homes, since we wanted to stay in the car and let K2 sleep as long as possible.

We saw 8 model homes, all by the same builder. The ultimate purpose was to see the house that had a similar floorplan to ours to see how our kitchen could possible look with an island instead of a U counter, a change we might implement when we put the hard-wood floors down in a couple months. That took until about 4 in the afternoon and then we headed for home. I decided to take a nap, but didn’t really sleep until after 6 until a little after 7. I woke up K2 then, because I was sure he wasn’t going to sleep from 4 until the next morning. He was up until about nine.

Okay, all these silly little details of our holiday aside, to the confusing part. Sunday, I felt like puking for the majority of the day. By the time we got to church at about 1:30, it occurred to me that I was a day late for my period. And I felt sick. I NEVER feel sick. I often feel over-full and uncomfortable, but feeling sick is a real rarity for me and only really happens if I am pregnant. Yes, folks, pregnant. After church we went to Walmart and K ran inside and bought a test. Usually, we don’t shop or buy things on Sunday, but I felt this was important enough to make an exception.

I took the test late in the evening over at K’s sister’s house and it was very positive. Not being the type to keep that sort of thing to myself, I told K’s family and later called my mom and dad and told them. Yesterday I took the second test and it was a bad test – it didn’t work at all for positive or negative. So K bought me another one last night which I took, and it was a positive, I THINK. It was fainter than the first positive that I got and now I’m not certain. I didn’t really feel sick yesterday, and I feel okay today. I stupidly stayed up until after 3 AM due an argument that K and I had, so I can’t gauge my fatigue by normal standards.

So, Sunday night I was sure I was pregnant. Now, I’m not so certain. But I still haven’t started my period and now I’m three days late instead of one. So, am I pregnant, or am I not? The test that K bought for me last night was a single. I’ll buy one more box of two today and see if I can get some certainty about this. It doesn’t change anything about my decision to quit my job at the end of October, but I definitely need to do some research about how I can do this pregnancy and consequent labor in the least expensive way possible.

As far as weight loss is concerned, this definitely puts a kink in things. I have made promise after promise to myself that this pregnancy will be different. That I’ll be physically active, working out, walking, playing with the kids and taking care of the house. I need to keep that promise. Eating better should get a little easier when I’m not going to the office with its endless supply of chocolate. And my goal to have more fresh food in the house will hopefully come to fruition after the next couple of months of tight budgeting.

Okay, I may be pregnant, I may not be. Over and out.

Leave a Reply

