Repairing the damage

August 21, 2008 at 9:33 am (Daily Workouts/Eats)

Over the last 2 1/2 weeks, my weight has fluctuated, mostly on the upward trend. I went from weighing in at 224.5 and 225 in the end of July to my highest over the last couple of weeks of 229.5. I can’t remember what day that was; I’ve been too embarassed and frustrated with myself to record the numbers diligently. I really didn’t want to have to lose the same 5 pounds over and over again like so many people that I read about. But I guess it was silly of me to think I was immune to the difficulties that plague almost all people that are trying to lose weight, regardless of their methods. A momentary lapse. Hopefully, for me and all successful losers, only momentary.

Much to my delight, getting back on track is producing quick results. I have no misconceptions that it will be easy to lose more actual weight, but losing the 4 pounds or so that I gained over the last couple weeks is going well. I weighed in this morning again at 225.5. Only a pound to go until my current low of 224.5.

Yesterday I managed to fast until I finished making dinner at about 4:30. Had a dinner of rice, chicken bites (marinated in some balsamic vinegar, italian seasoning, olive oil, and garlic powder), and steamed carrots (steamed in a little butter and brown sugar). The chicken was a little dry, but still tasty. After dinner I had a total of about 4 graham crackers. Then I decided to try my hand at making some wheat bread in the bread maker (K and I decided on our last budgeted grocery trip that we would try and make our own bread for a while to save money). After 3 false starts where I either read the wrong amount for the wrong ingredient, or started accidentally following the wrong recipe on the wrong page, I finally got everything in the maker and started the program for wheat bread. About 10 minutes later realized I hadn’t put in enough yeast, so I opened the bread maker and tried to knead in a little more. Ridiculous. I just hoped it would turn out halfway decent.

In the meantime, I put K2 to bed after giving him and P a bath. Then I set P up with some cartoons and worked out. I think it is because my form is getting progressively better with T-Tapp, but I swear each time I do the workout, I sweat more. So much so that last night the sweat was dripping off of me; when I leaned over for the leaning over moves, sweat dripped up my chin to my mouth. My hair dripped onto my shoulders. I mean its ridiculous how much I sweat. But I like it – that’s just that much harder my body is working and eliminating.

After my workout I went upstairs to put P to bed and she’d fallen asleep in my bed after turning the TV off for herself. So I left her there and went downstairs to watch a show and wait for the bread to get done. It was done around 9:15 and after getting it out of the pan, I had to try a piece. Well, the first piece was crunchy crust, so after I chomped that down, I had to try a piece of the inside bread. So I did. With honey. It was good, but not great. I probably won’t have any more of this loaf. Also, the 2-lb recipe makes the bread so tall the pieces are too big to manage, so I think if we’re going to keep doing this we’re going to have to use half a slice to equal a normal piece of bread.

After I finished my bread, I went upstairs and took a shower and got in bed. It was 9:45. I wasn’t sleepy at all. So I broke my own rule and started a show – Bones. Since I had it recorded I finished it at 10:36, turned it off, and went to bed.

This morning I woke up at 8 AM when P came in to get in bed with me, feeling a little groggy. But after I laid in bed for 5 minutes, I was feeling pretty well-rested, which is good because that’s when I heard K2 in his room.

Today is an AN day, office day, and SATI or BWO+ day. Not looking forward to the office, but I do know I need to get a fire lit under me in regards to work. The two at-home days I’ve had this week so far I haven’t gotten any significant work done, and therefore no significant hours. So I need to have a plan for what I’m going to work on tomorrow at home before I come home from the office today.

Leave a Reply

