Bored – 12 weeks coming up

August 21, 2008 at 4:13 pm (Daily Workouts/Eats)

A lot of challenges that you can join set for yourself last for 12 weeks. BFL is supposed to be a 12-week transformation. I think that the Turbulence Training challenges that they’ve had have been for 12 weeks. And there are plenty more. It just seems to be a good number for lots of people.

I’m at work this afternoon, and I’m bored. So I decided to read my “Success Story” posting from May 26, 2008. A few days after I wrote that, I started my plan. Specifically, my first fast was on June 1st. Well, in looking at the weeks instead of months, I realized that this Sunday will be 12 weeks since that first fast on my plan. There are 19 1/2 more weeks until the end of the year. In months, there are about 4.5 months left. In the past 12 weeks, I’ve made considerable progress, but the fact that I’ve derailed myself for about a week about 3 different times hasn’t helped. I’ve lost about 10 pounds and a bunch of inches since then. But if I continue this way, derailing myself every 3 weeks or so, I’m only going to lose about 15 more pounds this year. And that doesn’t add up to 70, which is the number that I put in my success story. It is 25 pounds, which is nothing to raise my nose at, but it is a long way from my goal. By the time this Sunday rolls around, I’m predicting that the numbers will say I’ve lost about a pound a week since I started this thing. 12 pounds in 12 weeks. Not fantastic, but better than nothing.

So, what’s my point? I guess I have a couple points:

1) I could keep this up and lose 19.5 pounds more by the end of the year. A pound a week. That would put me at 206 pounds, something I haven’t weighed since I did WW for a few weeks before I found out I was pregnant with K2 in the beginning of 2007.

2) I could step it up a few notches and try to double that. Lose 2 pounds a week until the end of the year. That would be a whopping, amazing 39 more pounds (49 total). And that would put me at 186.5 – a weight I haven’t seen since P was a year old, 3 years ago. That is a pretty dang exciting number. Two pounds seems doable, especially if I keep in mind my new motivation (STRONGER, not skinnier), my thoughts about long-term (this IS working, just do it right!), and that my habits will only get more deeply ingrained.

3) I might need to revise my success story. My success story, since it was written futuristically, was basically a goal. A goal with a plan behind is the most attainable, right? And I had and have a plan. But, goals should also be realistic. With the past 12 weeks under my belt (literally, since I can do up more notches on said belt now), I can now adjust that goal to be realistic and not just a random number. In the long run, I’d love to lose 70 pounds, but it might not be realistic to expect that by the end of the year. In order to lose 60 more pounds between now and then, I’ll need to lose an average of a little over 3 pounds a week, which seems unlikely and too hard on myself.

Bottom line – New goals:
1) To lose 39 more pounds by the end of the year. Approximately 2 pounds a week.
2) To stay on track with my plan and not let frustration or ennui derail me for more than ONE day. No week-long derails, please
3) Continue with 2 weekly fasts, lots of water, 2 AN days, and 4-6 workouts a week. 4 is the new minimum.
4) Continue with nightly plan of working out, one show, upstairs to shower or go to bed. Bed by 10:30 or earlier, and staying away from the kitchen and the dreaded late-night binging.
5) When grocery shopping, stay away from trigger foods specifically, vanilla yogurt, sweet cereals, and granola bars. If want treat, one vanilla yogurt is sufficient.

Leave a Reply

