Good Night’s Sleep

August 20, 2008 at 11:33 am (Daily Workouts/Eats)

Yesterday’s food:
2 bowls of Tootie Frooties | bite-size Snickers & fun-size Twix | big bowl of K’s sweet chili | applesauce | few roasted garbanzo beans | bite-size Snickers, fun-size Twix, 2 almond Hershey’s kisses | mac&cheese, hamburger/egg bake-cake, steamed brocolli

I started my fast after that interesting dinner last night. I didn’t munch my way into the night like I have for my last 4 or 5 fasts telling myself that it didn’t matter because I’d fast until dinner the next day. I thought of eating something quite a few times, but I told myself that I was fasting and had some water instead. I started the SATI workout and decided about 2 minutes in that I’d rather do BWO+, so I switched DVDs and did BWO+. Got a good heartrate rise and a good sweat going. I had told P after I put K2 to bed that she could watch one Mickey Mouse Clubhouse episode and then she was going to bed, she wasn’t going to fall asleep in my bed watching a movie like she had for the last few nights. So when I got done working out and she had already come downstairs when her episode ended, I helped her brush her teeth, go potty, and took her upstairs to bed. One bed-time story, and as I covered her up K2 started crying. I went in there dreading that my usual method of holding him for a few minutes and putting him back wouldn’t work (it definitely hadn’t worked the night before), but luckily it was a successful attempt.

I went downstairs and watched one show. Then I got ready for bed and went to bed by 10:10!! I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to get to sleep, but I definitely didn’t toss and turn, and the next thing I was conscious of was P going potty in our bathroom this morning at about 8:00. I expected her to come get in bed with me, but I went back to sleep and she went downstairs on her own. I slept for about 25 more minutes and then got up. So that’s about 10 hours of sleep, and it felt really good. I’m going to keep this up, and hopefully my body will naturally start waking me up earlier.

Today I’m going to start using the little make-shift notebook I made myself before leaving work yesterday. It is just stapled paper folded with some card stock as a cover, but it will work and it fits in my purse. But for right now, there isn’t anything to write down since all I’ve had today is water.

Tonight, plan is to have dinner, do the dishes, give the kids a bath, put them to bed, do the TWO, watch one show to cool off, go upstairs and shower, and go to bed. If I decide to do the workout this afternoon instead, then the plan will change to watching possibly 2 shows. But I will not start a new show after 9:30, and goal is to be in bed by 10:30 at the latest. And earlier is good, even *gasp* before 10! I got some chicken out to thaw; not sure what I’ll do with it for dinner, but it will probably involve balsamic vinegar since I love the flavor that stuff gives meat.

Okay, rambling over and out.

Leave a Reply

