Good news – pleasant surprise

June 11, 2008 at 10:12 am (Daily Workouts/Eats)

I have a habit of expecting the worst so that I won’t be disappointed. If something better happens, it is a pleasant surprise.

Stepping on the scale this morning was one of those pleasant surprises that I hadn’t allowed myself to hope for. I’m trying not to invest too much importance in the number on the scale, but it is still nice to see new numbers – less than I’ve seen in recent history.

Yesterday as I finished up my work day and K came to pick me up, I knew that he wouldn’t have made dinner since he’d been at a friend’s house with the kids, helping the friend work on his ‘project’ truck. Apparently, P had gotten to play with the friend’s kids in a slip-n-slide, a first for her. So she’d had an active afternoon in the sun, she’d gone to the park, played with one of her cousins, and then the slip-n-slide. Anyway, no dinner. So, as usual, we discussed what we were going to buy on the way home to eat for dinner. I wanted something filling, but hopefully healthy, so that I could start my fast off on a good foot. I’d had oatmeal for breakfast, applesauce for a snack, and leftovers from the night before for lunch. K wanted to get Taco Star, a local joint that makes fresh, if greasy, mexican food. The only thing I’d ever had from there was a breakfast burrito, and those things pack a punch. I ended up getting a carne asada quesadilla, which I didn’t really like – WAY too greasy even for me. I  ate some of K’s breakfast burrito – 3 or 4 big bites, and a little helping of rice and refried beans. I figured that kind of sodium grease dinner would definitely put me up a bit on the scale this morning if for only retaining water. I reluctantly started my fast after dinner – but around 9:00 I just really wanted to eat something, anything. I caved and had…… a piece of bread. What a stupid thing to cave for. I ate the crust and mushed the rest of the piece of whole wheat bread into a ball – a silly habit I’ve carried since childhood when eating bread plain.

Well, it filled the hole and allowed me to chew on something. I managed to leave the kitchen alone after that.

Today is another fasting day. It is 10 am and I’m doing okay. I definitely feel that the weekday fasts are always going to be harder than the Sunday fasts, but I could be wrong. 🙂 BUT – I haven’t said what the pleasant surprise was! Yesterday morning, I weighed in at 231. I stepped on the scale three different times to make sure. Haven’t seen that number in a while. I thought after last night’s grease-fest that today I’d be up at least a pound if not two or three. But, sitting at 231 still. yay!

I’ve been trying to find the direct quote from what I was writing about in my Monotonous post, but I can’t seem to find it. It would help if I were sure what format the quote was in, a talk, an article, etc. I’ll keep looking.

For  today – here is one of my favorite quotes: “You can’t plough a field by turning it over in your mind.”

I love that one. 

Leave a Reply

