Gotta think of clever blog titles

May 28, 2008 at 5:29 pm (Daily Workouts/Eats)

Memorial Day was a couple days ago. Usually, I use holidays as a reason that I ‘deserve’ a break and I rarely work out. But, as I mentioned at the end of my Success Story post, I decided to use the extra time to do some instructional workouts. I did them at home, since I didn’t know what the gym hours were on Monday and didn’t feel like finding out. It took me about an hour and a half to do the 2 instructionals, and I was a shaking, sweating mess by the end of it. P was busy watching Sponge Bob (I hate that cartoon) and K2 was asleep, so I was largely uninterrupted. P started bugging me for food toward the end, but I was able to hold her off until I finished. I thought that I’d remembered all the tips from the last time I did the instructionals about 3 years ago, and I thought my form was pretty good. I have to remind myself to tighten this or that while doing the workout, but my alignment is okay. But there were a few things in the instructionals that were definitely good reminders – stuff I hadn’t remembered and that I think I’m ready to integrate.  One of the things was keeping my shoulders parallel and straight when I twist during T-Tapp Twist, pulling the front shoulder around so that it is aligned with the other one. I will try and recall it all when I’m doing the TWO today at the gym.

I ate breakfast, and I think I remember having a lettuce, hard-boiled egg, grated carrot, Ranch dressing salad for lunch. Then we went up to Monument to my parents’ house and I had some M&Ms before our BBQ. Had a hamburger with lettuce, cheese and bacon, and a hot dog with cheese, and potato salad. Some lemonade. A few more M&Ms, but then we left before dessert was ready, and it was an apple-filled pastry which I don’t mind passing up. Then, I waited for K to get home so I could go to a movie with my SIL. We got there too late to stop at the concessions, which I had fully intended on doing so that was probably a good thing. But then, after the movie, K texted me to ask me to get him a 10-pc McD’s meal and bring it home to him, and I ended up getting one for myself. I didn’t drink all the Sprite, and I left one nugget, but I ate all the fries. And that was at about 12:30 at night, so it definitely wasn’t a good idea; McD’s is never really is a good idea, and even less so in the middle of the night.

The BBQ was fun and enjoyable to sit around and talk with my family. I was feeling particularly grateful that day, since we had all found out that morning that a dear family friend of ours, a 26 year old young man with a wife who is expecting their first child, was missing (for 3 days) and then a few hours later they found his body. SO sad and tragic and unexplainable. Here is the update site for what started out as the site to help search for him, and turned into a site to memoralize him. http://www.helpfindjohn.info

The movie I saw with the SIL was “What Happens in Vegas”. It was okay, nothing to rave about it. It had a part right as the credits were starting that was probably the funniest part in the whole movie and kept SIL and I laughing all the way to the car. She really wanted to see “Baby Mama”, which I wouldn’t mind seeing but could wait for the video. But we weren’t early enough to see that.

Yesterday, I stopped giving K2 his morning nursing session and started him off with a bottle. So the only time I nursed him yesterday was around 7:00, after he woke up from his nap and I’d given him a bath. The plan is to nurse him at night (if he’ll let me) for the rest of this week, and then by June 1, to not be nursing him at all. June 1 is a Sunday, so I’m going to start my first fast on Saturday night after dinner. Should be interesting to mix fasting with possible engorgement as my body figures out it doesn’t have to make any more milk. 🙂 I’m going to make it a religious fast, where I start off with a purpose or something I need help from the Lord for. I will pray at the beginning and try to keep that prayer in my heart the entire fast. Pray at the end before I break the fast. This kind of fast also calls for no liquids, while I think on the intermittent fasting plan, you can have water. Sunday night, I’ll have a healthy dinner, and Monday will be my first all-natural day.

Up until then, I’m just trying to make wise choices and only eat when I’m actually hungry.  This is made easier right now by the fact that we don’t have any of my trigger foods in the house. But on the flip side, we don’t have very many all-natural or non-trigger foods either. We’re out of almost everything except canned goods and some rice. 🙂 I really need to go shopping for some more veggies/fruits and eggs. But I’m not going to buy any of said trigger foods, such as white bagels, vanilla yogurt, candy or chocolate, granola bars, or my favorite cold cereals (can you say, Reeses Puffs?). I’m not sure when I’m going to go shopping, maybe I’ll have the guts to take both P and K2 to the store by myself for the first time ever tonight. We’ll see.

NOTE: I need to take some pictures of myself in something sort of tight/semi-revealing. Maybe my swimsuit? I need a visual gauge to go by for later progress. Also, I should probably take another set of measurements since the last ones I have are from end of March and I’ve gone up and down since then. Not sure if I’m still down. 🙂 Last I checked, weight was between 235 and 237, but I think that had a lot to do with McD’s in the middle of the night. I’ll try to weigh in tomorrow before breakfast – but I’m trying not to put too much importance into that number.

Leave a Reply

