Tried New things – cobblestoned a recipe, and pb parsnip fries

April 20, 2010 at 7:23 pm (General Life Updates)

Researched a bunch of meatball recipes today, and picked and chose ingredients that I had on-hand to cobblestone my own recipe:

BBQ Meatballs, recipe made up after looking at a bunch of meatball recipes:

1-1.5 lbs ground beef
1 egg, lightly beaten
3/4 – 1 cup whole wheat dried, ground bread crumbs (lots of recipes called for oatmeal, might try that next time)… See More
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1 T cajun seasoning (could use chili powder, I didn’t have any)
1/4 tsp pepper
1.5 tsp onion powder
handful of brown sugar
1/4 c 2% milk (lots of recipes called for evaporated milk)
1/4 c milled flax seed

Mixed it all together, rolled into balls, browned them in a pan on the stove until they were almost done through. Put them in a baking dish and covered them with sauce. I didn’t have enough BBQ sauce in the bottle left, so I took some ketchup and mixed in a little brown sugar and white vinegar to supplement the 1/2 cup or so I had. Made sure they were all coated in the sauce (could use however much you want depending on how saucy you want them. We were having them by themselves but more sauce might have been good if we were having them on rice or pasta), put in oven for 15-20 minutes until sauce is heated and you’re sure the meat is cooked through.

They were kind of soft – they could have been browned a little more than I had the patience for. :) Hope this isn’t too long!! I literally had this stuff on-hand, but I don’t know that any one thing is absolutely necessary. None of the recipes I saw called for flax, but I thought it would add some healthy fats and fiber. Also, lots called for just oatmeal and no bread crumbs. Some called for more egg, some for none at all.

And then PEANUT BUTTER PARSNIP FRIES:
I got the parsnip fries recipe from a blog that I read and I can’t wait to try them again because even half-burnt I loved them! Blog link: http://ohsheglows.com/2010/04/16/these-fries-will-change-your-life/

1 T extra virgin olive oil
2 T chunky peanut butter (I used creamy, Naturally More peanut butter)
1 T almond butter (I just used one more T peanut butter because I didn’t have almond butter, but I want to try this when I can afford to get some more almond butter)
1/2 tsp sea salt

Cut three parsnips up into “fries”, coat with the mixed peanut butter mixture, cook at 400 for 30-40 minutes. Apparently in Colorado, I only needed about 25 minutes, because I managed to burn most of them. But what I could salvage was¬†YUM.

2 Comments

  1. Angela (ohsheglows) said,

    Glad you liked them! I’m quite obsessed ahha. I want to try them with cashew butter….omggg

  2. farebear said,

    Yes, they were wonderful! And I bet cashew butter would be heavenly, too. I love cashews – by far my favorite nut.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

